Premium Report - Customer LTV
Customer LTV
This report shows you key customer metrics - Average Over Value (AOV), Purchase Frequency, and of course, Lifetime Value (LTV).
This is often useful for merchants who are looking to measure the typical spending habits of their customers - how many orders they place, how much they spend per order, and their total value over their lifetime.
As a Premium Report, this is available on all Paid Plans of Report Toaster. If you aren't signed up, follow these steps here to upgrade your account.
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By default, the report is set to cover all customers created in the last 10 years as a total summary (but see the section below for turning it into a cohort)
Here is what you need to be familiar with to understand the Customer LTV report:
1.) Customers With Orders, equal to, 1 (FILTER):
A filter to ensure that only Customers who have placed an order at your store are included in the report.
This is important because otherwise, Customers with 0 orders will affect the total calculations.
2.) Customers:
The number of customers that were created during that time period (default, last 10 years as a total summary)
For example, in the last 10 years, 3,861 new Customers were created at this store.
3.) Total Spent:
The total amount spent by those customers since they were first created at your store.
For example, here we can see that those 3,861 Customers spent a combined total of $578,018.29
4.) Orders:
The number of orders placed by those customers.
For example, those 3,861 Customers placed a collective total of 8,892 Orders.
5.) AOV:
The Average Order Value (AOV) of each of those orders. This is determined by Total Spent / Orders.
For example, if the Total Spent is $578,018.29 and Orders is 8,892, then AOV is $578,018.29/8,892 = $65.00
6.) Purchase Frequency:
How many orders has each Customer placed at the store. This is determined by Orders / Customers
For example, those 8,892 Orders were placed by 3,861 Customers, so Purchase Frequency is 2.30
7.) Customer LTV:
The average lifetime value of each customer. This is determined by Total Spent / Customers (or AOV x Purchase Frequency)
For example, if the Total Spent is $578,018.29 and there were 3,861 Customers, then on average each customer is worth $149.71
8.) Lifespan (Days) (avg):
The average lifespan of a customer, measured in days between their First Order Date and Last Order Date.
For example, the average lifespan for all of those customers is 232.25 days between their first and last order.
Finally, you can change this report from displaying a summary to displaying Yearly (or monthly) via the breakdown at the top.
E.g. if you change the report from Summary to Yearly (or Monthly), this will bucket customers based on the date they were first created at your store.
(for example, if John Smith first placed an order in 2024, all their orders, spending etc would be counted in that row)
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Doing this automatically enables the comparison metrics - so you can see how your LTV changes between customers created in 2024 vs 2025.
Don't panic - it is typical for these numbers to go down over time!
This is because, statistically speaking, the older a customer is, the higher their purchase frequency and total spend, because they've been a customer for longer.
Like all Report Toaster reports, these reports are fully customizable - so you can adjust the date range, add/remove columns, introduce a filter or change the sort to suit your individual needs. See our basic guides here for more info.
For other premium reports you can add to your account, check out our other article guides here.